Foodwithsole: My Top 5 IPA’s

In case you didn’t catch my article on Food With Sole, you missed out!  Peep it and make sure to check on both sites for ORIGINAL Content.  Peace!

I was honored when Rob “Eat Good Stay Fresh” Dizon asked me to contribute on his My Top 5 Series.  I don’t pretend to be the authority on the matter, but I LOVE BEER A LOT, I DRINK BEER A LOT and I TALK BEER A LOT!  Take into consideration everyone’s pallet is different, so go out and buy you some and make your own Top 5…

Indian Pale Ale (IPA) originated in England brewed with extra hops to survive the journey to British troops stationed in India.  It’s basically a hoppier version of a Pale Ale, more fresher hops more fresher hop flavor (or bitterness).  I drink’em because I’m too sweet, so I need the bitters to offset that (jokes).  I don’t drink Heineken, Corona or Bud… I LIKE BEER.  You have to understand, beer is like sneakers in that you have to be cool with your beer guy to get the good shit.  They usually keep it in the back and you wouldn’t know they had it unless you asked…It’s “Beer HEAT!”

5)  Denogginizer – Drake’s (San Leandro, CA 9.75ABV)

Citrus aroma and plenty of booze, but it doesn’t smack you in the face.  At 9.75ABV you’d expect to be overwhelmed by it, but it’s really nice.  Hot summer night, cold Denogginizer…definitely one of my favorite go to’s!

4)  West Coast IPA- Green Flash (San Diego, CA 7.3%ABV)

Fruity with a note of grapefruit.  Definitely hoppier (or more bitter) than the other, this one will smack you in the face.  You can grab a four-pack of 12oz bottles to chill at home or a 22oz bottle to appear as an extra on a Mobb Deep video.

3)  Sculpin- Ballast Point (San Diego, CA 7.0%ABV)

Now we’re talking BIG flavors!  Apricot, peach, mango & lemon aroma and PLENTY of crispy hops!  This is a beer-drinkers beer.  Used to be hard to find these, usually you’d bribe your beer guy for a bottle, but they’re definitely cranking out more of it nowadays.   It’s still Beer HEAT!

2)  Just Outstanding –  Kern River (Kernville, CA 6.8%ABV)

It’s hard for me to put these in a particular order, so I placed Just Outstanding at 2nd, because it’s harder to find.  When delivered, it usually sells out same day!  Definitely Beer HEAT!  Floral aromas with a citrus finish, this shit is the shit!  I buy it whenever they have it, drink some!

1)  Pliny the Elder- Russian River (Santa Rosa, CA 8.0%ABV)

Probably the MOST hyped of all the IPA’s.  I actually got some heat from fellow beer snobs for writing my blog article on it, but that’s alright.  I still think your casual-beer-drinker prefers that yellow watered down crap, they can stick to their Coronas.  Grapefruit & pine aromas, BIG BOLD HOPS, another beer made for beer-drinkers.  Definitely my most favorite and hard to find, Super Beer HEAT!

Notice anything weird?  All the good shit is MADE IN CALI!  Cali is definitely at the forefront of IPA Brewing, so luckily for us we have better access to fresher Beer HEAT than other states…

Comments are closed.